Cannes International Film Festival is the first thing that comes into your mind when you hear about Cannes; the same Cannesway we associate love, romance and arts to Paris.

Cannes is of course famous for this yearly major film awards event, but it has much more to offer. Its sandy beaches, with scattered palm trees along the promenade, are full of tourists enjoying the sun and the Mediterranean Sea at the Cote d'Azur. This makes Cannes one of the Spa and beach holidays hotspots of the French Riviera, along with Nice, Antibes, Monte Carlo and Menton.

Cannes Short History

The area now occupied by Cannes was inhabited by humans since the 2nd Century BC, when the ligurian tribes of Oxybii created a settlement under the name of Aegitna. In the 10th Century AD, the locality was known by the name of Canua. Canua was initially a ligurian port and afterwards an Roman outpost (the roman graves stand proof of this).

Hospitality and Accommodation in Cannes

The city of Cannes concentrates its buildings on the sea shore, along the famous La Croisette promenade, where one can admire the luxurious hotels and beaches. However, Cannes accommodation facilities include hotels for all budgets, from 1 star hotels to 5 star and luxury hotels, apartments and residences as well as camping areas. Four of the many luxury hotels in Cannes are Carlton Intercontinental, Majestic Barrière, Martinez, Palais Stéphanie, all built in different architectonic styles and set on La Croisette Boulevard.

Gastronomy and Eating Out in Cannes

Cannes counts more then 280 refined restaurants, some of them receiving special culinary prizes (La Palme d'Or Restaurant has received 2 stars prize by Michelin Guide). There are plenty of restaurants able to satisfy even the most pretentious tourists with their refined French Cuisine.

The best chefs in Europe compete here in Cannes. The typical French Cuisine of Cannes is a provincial one, dominated by the "flavours of the sea", off the Cote d'Azur. One can enjoy the typical dishes of Provence, like Aïoli, soupe au pistou, daube de sanglier, ratatouille or bouillabaisse (fish soup) along with a French wine like Rosè Bandol or the perfumed white wines Saint Tropez region.

Cannes Tourist Attractions and Objectives

The city of Cannes does offer more then its famous Film Festival. There are plenty of tourist attractions and objectives: museums (Museum of the Sea), casinos (Carlton Casino Club), theaters (Palais des Festivals) or offshore islands. When you feel you need some space and tranquility and get rid of a crowded city and its rush, you may plan an outdoors escapade to the Lerins Islands Archipelago. You can get on Lerins Islands by ferry. St. Marguerite and St. Honorat Islands have sandy beaches and hidden small bays where you can enjoy the sun and sea tranquility.

Cannes Events and Happenings

Cannes International Film Festival is the main event taking place every year in Cannes. There are many other cultural, arts and music events taking place in Cannes. Throughout the year, Cannes hosts a multitude of art expositions, concerts and cooking events as well as sports and sailing events.

Hotels in Cannes

Cézanne Hotel Cézanne Cannes
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez Hotel Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez Cannes
La Villa Tosca Hotel La Villa Tosca Cannes
Regina Hotel Regina Cannes
Go to top

Hotels Booking

The best offers and prices for your holiday!

Residences in Cannes

Club Maintenon Residence Club Maintenon Cannes
Studios Suquetans Residence Studios Suquetans Cannes
Go to top

Hostels in Cannes

Éthic étapes Cannes Jeuness Hostel Éthic étapes Cannes Jeuness Cannes
Etap Centre Ville Hostel Etap Centre Ville Cannes
Go to top

Campings in Cannes

Plateau des Chasses Camping Plateau des Chasses Cannes
Parc Bellevue Camping Parc Bellevue Cannes
Go to top

Image Gallery

Cannes french riviera
Cannes french riviera
Cannes Hotels with sea view
Cannes Hotels with sea view
Cannes France
Cannes France
Hotels in Cannes
Hotels in Cannes

Video Cannes

Cannes and Cote d'Azur
Cannes and Cote d'Azur
Cannes Beach
Cannes Beach
Cannes Nightlife
Cannes Nightlife
Cannes travel trips
Cannes travel trips
Cannes surroundings
Cannes surroundings
Cannes International Boat Show
Cannes International Boat Show
The Festival de Cannes
The Festival de Cannes
International pyrotechnic festival in Cannes
International pyrotechnic festival in Cannes
Presentation of the French Riviera
Presentation of the French Riviera

Le Festival International du film est la première chose qui vient à l'esprit lorsque nous entendons parler de la ville de Cannes,Cannes exactement de la même manière que nous associons l'amour, le mysticisme et l'art à Paris.

La célébrité de la ville est, bien sûr, due à cet événement, mais nous ne pouvons pas négliger les plages à palmiers peuplées par touristes et la mer d’un bleu particulier de la Côte d'Azur qui rendent Cannes une célèbre localité balnéaire sur la Rivière française, à côté de Nice, Antibes, Monte Carlo et de Menton.

Brève histoire de Cannes

La zone actuelle de la ville était déjà habitée depuis le 2ème siècle avant J.-C. On croit que les tribus Ligures des Ossibiens ont créé une colonie appelée Aegitna. Dans le 10ème siècle, la ville était connue comme Canua. Celui-ci fut probablement un port des Ligures, puis un avant-poste romain (preuve le font les tombes romaines découvertes).

Accueil et hébergement à Cannes

La ville est concentrée vers le bord de la mer, sur la célèbre promenade de La Croisette, où vous pourrez admirer les majestueux hôtels et plages. Cannes offre des places d'hébergement pour tous les goûts, des hôtels d’une étoile jusqu’aux plus luxueux hôtels de 5 étoiles, appartements ou campings. Nous pouvons mentionner 4 hôtels fameux de luxe de Cannes: Carlton Intercontinental, Majestic Barrière, Martinez, Palais Stéphanie, des époques et styles différents, tous situés sur le boulevard de La Croisette.

Gastronomie à Cannes

Avec ses 280 restaurants (un primé par le guide Michelin avec 2 étoiles: La Palme d'Or), nous pouvons dire avec certitude de Cannes qu’il réussit par l’art culinaire satisfaire même les plus prétentieux touristes désireux de découvrir et s’ébaudir de la gastronomie française.

Les meilleurs chefs de l’Europe sont ici en compétition de la cuisine, la cuisine typique de Cannes étant provinciale, avec "des arômes de la mer" sur la Côte d'Azur, donc on peut savourer des plats typiques de la Provence comme Aïoli, soupe au pistou, daube de sanglier, ratatouille ou bouillabaisse (soupe de poisson) accompagnés par un vin français comme Rosé Bandol ou les vins blancs parfumés produits dans la zone de Saint-Tropez.

Attractions, objectifs touristiques de Cannes

Si vous n'êtes pas venu à Cannes seulement pour le festival du film, la ville jouit de nombreuses attractions, des objectifs touristiques: musées (Musée de la Mer), Casino (Carlton Casino Club), théâtres (Palais des Festivals) ou des îles. Lorsque vous sentirez le besoin d'espace, calme, une escapade en dehors des zones urbaines et le monde mondain, vous pouvez visiter l'archipel des îles de Lérins, qui peut être accessible par ferry. Les îles Saint - Marguerite / Saint - Honorat ont des plages et de criques où vous pouvez profiter tranquillement du soleil et le calme de la mer.

Événements à Cannes

L'événement qui a amené une telle célébrité à la ville est le Festival international du film (Festival de Cannes). Laissant de côté l'événement le plus important de l'année, si vous êtes passionnés de la culture, de l'art ou de la musique ici sont organisées plusieurs expositions d'art, concerts, événements liés à l’art culinaire, des événements sportifs ou des pièces de théâtre.

Hôtels à Cannes

Alizé Hôtel Alizé Cannes
Villa Francia Hôtel Villa Francia Cannes
Eden Hôtel Eden Cannes
La Villa Tosca Hôtel La Villa Tosca Cannes
Haut de la page

Réservations hôtels

Les meilleures offres et les prix de vos vacances!

Apart’hôtels et appartements à Cannes

Meuble Colmar Apart’hôtel Meuble Colmar Cannes
Azur Meuble Apart’hôtel Azur Meuble Cannes
Haut de la page

Auberges de jeunesse à Cannes

Éthic étapes Cannes Jeuness Auberge Éthic étapes Cannes Jeuness Cannes
Etap Centre Ville Auberge Etap Centre Ville Cannes
Haut de la page

Campings à Cannes

Les Cigales Camping Les Cigales Cannes
Plateau des Chasses Camping Plateau des Chasses Cannes
Haut de la page

Galerie photos

Cannes Cote d'Azur
Cannes Cote d'Azur
Cannes France
Cannes France
Hotels a Cannes
Hotels a Cannes
Cannes Hotels avec vue sur mer
Cannes Hotels avec vue sur mer

Video Cannes

Cannes et Côte d'Azur
Cannes et Côte d'Azur
Cannes Plages
Cannes Plages
La vie nocturne à Cannes
La vie nocturne à Cannes
Cannes astuces voyage
Cannes astuces voyage
Cannes et les environs
Cannes et les environs
Cannes International Boat Show
Cannes International Boat Show
Le Festival de Cannes
Le Festival de Cannes
Le Festival International d’Art Pyrotechnique
Le Festival International d’Art Pyrotechnique
Présentation de la Cote d'Azur
Présentation de la Cote d'Azur